Board of Directors


The Board of Directors is comprised of 15 members, all of whom have been chosen by the Governor from among the ranks of top private and public sector leaders throughout metro Atlanta. Board members provide strategic guidance and direction to address our state’s transportation challenges and to provide the best return to the taxpayers of Georgia on their investment in transportation.


2015 Board Members   
Walter M. “Sonny” Deriso, Jr., ChairmanCharlotte J. Nash
Richard A. “Dick” Anderson, Vice ChairmanNarender G. Reddy
Ann HanlonWilliam Tate
Alton W. KnightRobert “Bob” P. Voyles
Martha S. Martin J.T. Williams
Elizabeth “B.J.” MathisTom Worthan
Alvin P. “Al” NashEvelyn Wynn-Dixon

Board Officers and Committee Chairs


Walter M. "Sonny" Deriso, Jr.
Chairman, GRTA Board

Sonny Deriso is the Chairman of the Board of Atlantic Capital Bank and Atlantic Capital Bancshares, Inc. He previously served as vice-chairman of Synovus Financial Corp in Columbus and served as president of Security Bank & Trust Company of Albany as well as practicing law for 18 years with the firm Divine, Wilkin, Deriso, Raulerson & Fields in Albany. Deriso serves on the Board of Directors of Post Properties, the Georgia Chamber of Commerce, the Board of Trustees of Emory University, the Board of Marcus Autism Center, and the Foundation of The Methodist Children's Home of the South Georgia Conference.


Richard A. "Dick" Anderson
Vice Chairman, GRTA Board

Dick Anderson has held executive leadership positions in the public and private sectors throughout his long and distinguished career in telecommunications, in which he was the Vice Chairman of BellSouth and Group President for AT&T. Anderson is currently the County Manager for Fulton County.  Most recently, he has served as Chief Operating Officer at the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System and previously served as Executive Director of GRTA. Anderson has long been involved in the Atlanta community, serving on the boards of the Marcus Autism Center, Children's Healthcare of Atlanta, MARTA, Georgia Higher Education Facilities Authority, Clark Atlanta University, and Camp Twin Lakes.

Alton Knight

Chair, Operations and Finance Committee 


Alvin "Al" Nash

Chair, Rural and Human Services Transportation Committee  


Robert "Bob" Voyles 

Chair, Land Development Committee 


J.T Williams 

Chair, Projects and Planning Committee  




Contact Information

Member's Name
GRTA Board of Directors
245 Peachtree Center Avenue, NE
Suite 400
Atlanta, GA 30303-1426 
Email a GRTA board member

For exact times and dates of upcoming meetings, as well as agendas and previous minutes and documents, click here .

Live Webcast of Monthly Board Meetings
Board Meetings
Media Kit

About Us
Governor's Development Council
Staff and Leadership
Career Opportunities
Contact Information
Visit Our Blog

  About GRTA

Board of Directors
Board Meetings
Governor's Development Council
Staff & Leadership
Career Opportunities
  Core Businesses

Regional Commuter Transit
Transportation Performance Management
  Developments of Regional Impact
  Rural and Human Services Transportation
  Transportation Improvement Program

Media Kit
Xpress For Employers
Accessibility and Civil Rights
State Employee Commuter Assistance Program
Transportation Partners
Doing Business with GRTA
  Bid Opportunities
  Vendor Registration
  Contact GRTA

Phone: 404-463-3000
Fax: 404-463-3060

245 Peachtree Center Avenue, NE
Suite 400
Atlanta, GA 30303-1223

Copyright 2004-2013 by the Georgia Regional Transportation Authority
245 Peachtree Center Ave. NE, Suite 400, Atlanta, GA 30303 (404)-463-3000
Please contact the webmaster if you experience any technical problems while using our site.